The 68,000-square-mile Vicksburg District encompasses seven major river basins, including 278 miles of the Mississippi River's main stem, in Arkansas, Louisiana, and Mississippi. The district is also responsible for about 800 miles of commercially navigable streams and rivers including the Ouachita-Black system, the Pearl, the Red, and the Yazoo rivers. Current missions ongoing at this district are: flood control, navigation, hydropower, recreation, water supply, emergency operations, water quality, and environmental restoration.